BBC NORTHERN IRELAND ORCHESTRA

This is the players' list from a concert given by the BBC NIO in the Whitla Hall, Queen's University, Belfast, on 19 November 1978 as part of Festival '78. The conductor was Eric Wetherell and the soloist was soprano Heather Harper. As is so often the case, there is no indication of which players might be extras or deputies.

Violins

Maurice Cavanagh (Leader)
Jean Boddis (Sub-Leader)
Malcolm Turner (Principal)
Maggie Wilson (Sub-Principal)
Dennis Benson
Shelagh McLeod
Chad Koelmeyer
Wendy Cochran
John Reid (Principal)
Maggie Hughes (Sub-Principal)
Sylvia Gray
Susan Cohen
David Lillis
Noeleen Bell

Violas

Joy Roger Hammerschlag (Principal) Ruth Mann (Sub-Principal) Judy Baum (4th viola) Ashley Mason (3rd viola)

Cellos

Jeremy Lawrence (Principal) Elaine Brook (Sub-Principal) Thomas Kanter (4th cello) David Burrowes (3rd cello)

Double basses

Armour Hamilton (Principal) Barry Young (Sub-Principal)

Flutes

Elizabeth Bennett (Principal) Stephen Hicking (Sub-Principal)

Oboes

Christine Swain (Principal) Nigel Roberts (Sub-Principal)

Clarinets

Paul Schumann (Principal) Michael Huntriss (Sub-Principal)

Bassoons

Jonathan Holland (Principal) David McKee (Sub-Principal)

Horns

James de Corsey (Principal) Stewart Benzie (Sub-Principal)

Trumpets

Eric Dunlea (Principal) Michael Bennett (Sub-Principal)

Trombones

Danny Longstaff (Principal) Bart Walker (Sub-Principal) William Gilmore (Sub-Principal)

Timpani/Percussion

Malcolm Neale (Principal)

Keyboard/Percussion

Eddie Pearl (Principal)

Harp

Audrey Douglas (Principal)